TuneTracker™ QuickTip

Cleaning Out the Backup Drive

Our TuneBacker package does something less than, or, depending on your point of view, something more than, an exact mirroring of your main hard drive. TuneBacker does indeed back up the entire contents of your main hard drive, but files you have deleted from your main drive since the last backup are not removed from the Backup drive. The benefit of this approach is that you have the ability to rescue files from the Backup drive that you might have accidentally cleared off your main drive. However the approach we take requires some occasional "house cleaning" on your part, to keep your Backup drive from completely filling up. You can either:


  1. The left and right arrow buttons let you flip through pages and pages of MyShow buttons, all configured exactly as you want them.
  2. Look through your Backup drive and delete unneeded files manually, or
  3. The left and right arrow buttons let you flip through pages and pages of MyShow buttons, all configured exactly as you want them.
  4. Literally clear the Backup drive completely, using Initialize, and then do a clean backup.

If you opt for the second approach, here's how it's done:

WARNING! The following instructions must only be performed on your Backup drive. If you also perform them on your main broadcast drive, you will lose your station contents entirely, so be careful, and perform the following at your own risk.


  1. The left and right arrow buttons let you flip through pages and pages of MyShow buttons, all configured exactly as you want them.
  2. If not already unmounted, unmount your Backup drive by right-clicking on its icon and choosing "Unmount."
  3. The left and right arrow buttons let you flip through pages and pages of MyShow buttons, all configured exactly as you want them.
  4. Enter DriveSetup, normally accessed under Haiku® Preferences or under ZETA System/Tools.
  5. The left and right arrow buttons let you flip through pages and pages of MyShow buttons, all configured exactly as you want them.
  6. Right-click on the Backup drive (make sure you choose the right drive!) and move your mouse over Setup, then Initialize, then Backup, then Be File System (or ZETA File System)
  7. The left and right arrow buttons let you flip through pages and pages of MyShow buttons, all configured exactly as you want them.
  8. You will be asked for a volume name. Do not change what is already showing.
  9. The left and right arrow buttons let you flip through pages and pages of MyShow buttons, all configured exactly as you want them.
  10. Click Initialize. You'll be asked if you're sure. If you are, click Initialize again. Your Backup drive will immediately be cleared of contents.
  11. The left and right arrow buttons let you flip through pages and pages of MyShow buttons, all configured exactly as you want them.
  12. You may be asked next if you want to mount the drive. Doing so is fine, or leaving it unmounted is fine as well.

We recommend you immediately do a fresh back by running DoBackups, which may be on your desktop depending on your particular installation. If you do not see an icon for it, open a Terminal (CTRL-ALT-D) and type DoBackups and hit Enter.



Get these all the time!    Write to us and we'll add you to our weekly e-mail tiplist.


PRODUCTS - TESTIMONIALS - VIDEOS - SUPPORT - CONTACT - NEWS
Talk to a TuneTracker Systems expert right now:   920-273-0543